Award winning Christian fiction

Last month at the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) conference in Dallas, the annual awards dinner was held to honour excellence in Christian fiction. The 2012 Carol Award winners were announced and we’ve listed below the 2012 winners and finalists in each Christian fiction genre.

This list could also be helpful if you’re looking to try a different genre or find new authors to read. A big congratulations to all the winners!

Debut Novel

Winner: Fairer Than Morning by Rosslyn Elliott (Thomas Nelson)

The Loom by Shella Gillus (Guideposts)

Give the Lady a Ride by Linda W. Yezak (Sky Sail, Port Yonder Press)


Long Contemporary

Winner: The Search by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Revell)

Lost Melody by Lori Copeland/Virginia Smith (Zondervan)

Larkspur Cove by Lisa Wingate (Bethany House Publishers)


Long Contemporary Romance

Winner: My Foolish Heart by Susan May Warren (Tyndale)

Save the Date by Jenny B. Jones (Thomas Nelson)

Lilly’s Wedding Quilt by Kelly M. Long (Thomas Nelson)


Long Historical

Winner: Fairer Than Morning by Rosslyn Elliott (Thomas Nelson)

Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis (Moody Publishers/River North)

Mine Is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs (WaterBrook Press)


Long Historical Romance

Winner: To Win Her Heart by Karen Witemeyer (Bethany House Publishers)

The Maid of Fairbourne Hall by Julie Klassen (Bethany House Publishers)

Lilies in Moonlight by Allison Pittman (Multnomah Publishers)



Winner: Falling to Pieces: A Shipshewana Amish Mystery by Vannetta Chapman (Zondervan)

Died in the Wool by Elizabeth Ludwig/Janelle Mowery (Barbour Publishing)

Yesterday’s Secrets by Kelly Ann Riley (Guideposts)



Winner: An Accidental Christmas from A Biltmore Christmas by Diane T. Ashley/Aaron McCarver (Barbour Publishing)

Reese: All Along  from Smitten by Denise Hunter (Thomas Nelson)

A Star in the Night from A Log Cabin Christmas by Liz Johnson (Barbour Publishing)


Romantic Suspense

Winner: Lonestar Angel by Colleen Coble (Thomas Nelson)

Deadly Pursuit by Irene Hannon (Revell)

Wolfsbane by Ronie Kendig (Barbour Publishing)


Short Contemporary

Winner: Lakeside Reunion by Lisa Jordan (Love Inspired)

The Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray (Cindy DiTiberio)

Oklahoma Reunion by Tina Radcliffe (Love Inspired)


Short Contemporary Suspense

Winner: Nightwatch by Valerie Hansen (Love Inspired Suspense)

Double Identity by Diane Burke (Love Inspired Suspense)

A Deadly Game by Virginia Smith (Love Inspired Suspense)


Short Historical

Winner: The Deepest Waters by Dan Walsh (Revell)

Promise of Time by S. Dionne Moore (Heartsong Presents)

Revealing Fire by Connie Stevens (Heartsong Presents)

Light to My Path by Erica Vetsch (Heartsong Presents)


Speculative Fiction

Winner: Broken Sight by Steve Rzasa (Marcher Lord Press)

The Story in the Stars by Yvonne Anderson (Risen Books)

The Chair by James L. Rubart (B & H Fiction)



Winner: Fallen Angel by Major Jeff Struecker/Alton Gansky (B & H Fiction)

Over the Edge by Brandilyn Collins (B & H Fiction)

Freedom’s Stand by Jeanette (J.M.) Windle (Tyndale)


Women’s Fiction

Winner: Dandelion Summer by Lisa Wingate (Penguin Praise/Berkley)

A Sound Among the Trees by Susan Meissner (WaterBrook Press)

When Sparrows Fall by Meg Moseley (Multnomah Publishers)


Young Adult

Winner: The Merchant’s Daughter by Melanie Dickerson (Zondervan)

Wreath by Judy Christie (Barbour Publishing)

There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones (Thomas Nelson)